Workshops in 2008

November 6, 2007

toestjustbk.jpg
Here are the dates for upcoming videoconferences with Patricia McKissack at Cooperating School Districts:
 

Historical Fiction/Biography Writing Dates: Feb. 13 teacher 4-5 pm; Feb. 27 student I 9:30-12; March 12 student II 9:30-12 

Nonfiction Writing: Fact vs. Opinion with Arlene Zarembka, co-author of To Establish Justice with Pat McKissack Dates: Jan. 30 teacher 4-5 pm;  Feb. 13 student I 1-3 pm;  March 12 student II 1-3 pm

Contact Rebecca or Martha if you are interested!

One Response to “Workshops in 2008”

  1. mckissackbooks said

    Historical Fiction is one of my favorite writing forms, because I like “what-if-ing” history. My first published book was a biography about Paul Laurence Dunbar, a poet. Others followed such as Mary McLeod Bethune, Frederick Douglass, and Martin Luther King, Jr. The fun of writing non-fiction is the research phase. It’s like a treasure hunt where the gems and gold are facts and documents, interviews, eye witnesses, letters, diaries, and old photographs. Everything counts when I’m researching. Once I find all the material, then I sort, evaluate and categorize the information.

    I am really looking forward to working with and sharing ideas and techniques for researching and writing non-fiction. Arlene and I also are excited about team teaching about the difference between fact and opinion.

    Hope to see you soon.

Leave a comment